Shrimp Mozambique

You would not know by its name, but this is a quick and easy Portuguese recipe, in addition, it is absolutely delicious!

As an aside, I never made this recipe until now.  I have always heard about how great it is but due to one ingredient, saffron, I stayed away from it.  That spice scared me! I grew up in S. Miguel and my father planted saffron but my mother never used it. We harvested it. I remember dreading saffron season.  When fall came around so did the saffron flowers.  The women and children (can you say child labour?) sat around for hours amid thousands of saffron blooms to carefully extract the few stigmas.  After a hard day’s work, we only had a very small yield, but our finger tips were orange, which seemed to last for weeks.  Anyway, after I became an adult and started to cook and become more open to different flavours, I went in search of some saffron, should be easy….but no.  Not only was it not very easy to find, what I did find was extremely expensive.  Say what? I had to pay an arm and a leg for the stuff I rejected as a kid and young adult? I just couldn’t believe it and pretty much kind of boycotted the spice.  Last year I took a trip to S. Miguel and was telling one of my friends about my issues with saffron (she was a saffron victim herself).  She laughed.  About 10 minutes after she left me, she came with a small jar of saffron.  There has to be at least $1,000 worth of saffron in that little jar!! So now I’ve decided to give saffron another chance to impress me.

 Ingredients:

500gr raw shrimp peeled and deveined
1 medium onion finely chopped
2 tbsp. parsley
1 pinch of saffron
1/2 tsp. salt (this is what I use as my crushed pepper is already salty, adjust to taste)
1/2 tsp. piri piri sauce (my crushed pepper is also spicy, adjust to taste)
1 tbsp. crushed red pepper
3 cloves garlic minced
2 tbsp. butter
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 beer
Cooked white rice

Preparation:

Mix together pepper, piri piri sauce, garlic, saffron,  and salt, set aside.  Melt 1.5 tbsp butter in a frying pan, add olive oil and onion, cook over medium heat until soft. Add pepper mix and stir, cook for 1-2 minutes. Add beer, bring to boil and add shrimp, parsley and rest of butter. Cook over medium heat until shrimp are done. Serve over rice.

Leave a Reply

