No Added Sugar Granola

Making granola is actually very easy and a lot better than the store bought stuff.  Here is a simple recipe that I have been making for a couple of years now.  I started making this because I have a wheat sensitivity and I do not eat dairy nor eggs, that left me in a difficult situation at breakfast time.  I use granola to sprinkle over my berries and baked pears.

I particularly like this recipe because there is no added sugar!  Feel free to add whatever you like.  I’ve added slivered almonds (toasted and raw), peanuts, dehydrated strawberries, etc.

 Ingredients:

3 cups of rolled oats
1 cup of organic maple syrup
1/2 cup of carob chips
1/2 cup of dried blueberries
1/3 cup of toasted unsweetened coconut
1 tbsp. of coconut oil

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Use the coconut oil to grease a length of parchment paper to cover your pan.  I like using a pizza pan but any cookie sheet or pyrex will do.

Mix all the dry ingredients together.  Bring maple syrup to a boil and add to dry ingredients.  Mix well. Carob chips will melt but that’s ok! If you want the carob to keep its shape, do not boil the syrup, however, you may need a little bit more as it will be thicker and not as easy to mix into the oats.  I’ve made it both ways.

Press unto the parchment paper and bake for approximately 20 minutes.  Remove from oven.  Granola will be soft to the touch while it is hot, do not overcook!  Let cool, remove from pan and store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

